Cadillac Sunroof Leak

We Tried it at Home
2 min readApr 6, 2020

I took my SRX in for service to have the Cue replaced. I later found my liftgate wouldn’t open. I assumed they missed connecting something or programming something.

I took it back to the dealer expecting a simple fix. No, they called to tell me the sunroof drain tubes were clogged and had filled the inside back of my SRX with water. The motor and control module for the liftgate were under water!

The dealer quoted $1500.00 to fix it. We said no, we would try to fix it ourselves. We bought the control module and tried to reprogram it without replacing the motor. Long story short, it didn’t work.

I had no idea there was water in my car! I guess with the radio on and all the soundproofing they put in the cars, I didn’t hear it sloshing around. At the time my SRX didn’t have a garage or carport.

I went back to the dealer and $900.00 later my SRX is all fixed and stays in the new carport! I love my SRX and hope I don’t have any more problems with it. It is getting some years and miles on it, so we will see.

If you have a Cadillac especially an SRX look under the foam insert in the very back and see if you have any water, before it burns out the liftgate motor and control module. It seems that some SRX owners are experiencing leaks into the passenger compartment. This can cause wet carpet, mold and damage to interior components and/or electronic modules.

Do an online search for clogged sunroof drains or sunroof leaks, apparently it affects a lot of Cadillac models. Good luck, I hope your Cadillac is free of water!

You may also want to check out my article about dim Cadillac SRX headlights and Cadillac CUE Problems.

Originally published at https://wetrieditathome.com on April 6, 2020.

--

--